Summer Haircare essentials

IMG_2296

I don’t know about you guys, but come summer, I am forced to acknowledge that humidity is not my friend! I have naturally straight and quite thick hair, but in the summertime it tends to go crazy. I get loads of fly-aways, my hair goes limp and I am forced to deal with my split ends. It’s not pretty. I use the following haircare to keep the craziness contained during these warm summer months.

1.  Bumble and Bumble Texture Hair (Un) Dressing Creme ($32)

This is my go to product for texture and volume. I apply a pea sized amount in my hands and rub it together and then I apply this to my roots. In the summertime I don’t use heat on my hair, it’s just to damn hot, so I use this in my wet hair and let it air dry and I get some great volume without feeling any build up or grease in my hair.

2. Dove Nutritive Therapy Nourishing Oil Care Daily Treatment Conditioner ($5)

I must admit that I have always been skeptical to use Dove haircare products. I find most drugstore hair products tend to be waxy and leave build up in my hair. This product has been raved about by many and I completely understand why. Let’s start with the smell…it’s simply divine. It comes out as conditioner infused with oil, it looks kind of toothpaste…but that aside, this product really performs. It makes my hair so soft and I truly enjoy using this, plus, the price is amazing. It’s doing a great job of keeping my hair looking healthy!

3. KMS Hair Play Sea Salt Spray ($16.50)

I tried the infamous Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray and I was completely underwhelmed. Perhaps that kind of product is better for those with shorter hair, but for me, it just didn’t do anything for my long hair. I purchased this KMS Sea Salt Spray because it comes in a much bigger bottle than the B&B spray and so far I’ve really been loving it for giving me some texture and awesome “beach hair”….Success!

4. The Body Shop Grape Seed Glossing Serum ($12)

Before this I had never tried any hair care products from the Body Shop aside from a shampoo and conditioner. I picked this up after reading great reviews about it on makeupalley.com, and it is definitely a keeper! It smells amazing and it gives a lot of shine to my hair while never making it feel or look greasy. I apply this when my hair is wet and bam! I have glossy locks.

5. Klorane Shampoo with Desert Date ($13)

This shampoo is a nutritive and reparative shampoo for dry, damaged and brittle hair. I use this sort of as a detox shampoo and it works like a dream. The smell doesn’t particularly have me sold but I love the way that it works, and I especially love using this with with the aforementioned Dove Nutritive Therapy Nourishing Oil Care Daily Treatment Conditioner.

6. Macadamia Deep Repair Masque ($20) and Macadamia Healing Oil Spray ($15)

I love Macadamia products, I’d choose them any day over Moroccan Oil. This hair mask is the best, I use it probably once every two weeks and I get soft, hydrated and shiny hair. The Healing Oil Spray is meant to be used as a pre-blow dry and pre-straightening protectant but I actually use this to give some extra moisture to my ends, it works like a dream! This duo is a must for the summer.

7. AG Colour Care Split End Spa Repair Serum ($23.95)

I have never found a better product than this for sealing my split ends and making my hair healthy looking in between trims. This has an odd pump, but it distributes the perfect amount of product onto the hands and then you apply it only to the ends of the hair. This is a product I will always repurchase!

8. Babyliss Pro Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner ($16.50 each)

This shampoo and conditioner is another great alternative to Moroccan Oil. It smells identical but in my opinion these products perform better. I love that these are sulphate free and they give great moisture to my hair. I alternate these into my hair care routine and I absolutely love them and could not be without this set!

Have you tried any of these products? Tell me what products save your hair during these hot summer months!

xKellybonesx

Leave a Reply

